Working In A Man’s World Part II

F 4 Jet
I never will forget carrying that tool box with me across what we called the field, my first day on the job. The field was a huge paved area in front of the hangers where planes were taken out, after being worked on. The parking lot was about a half mile away. Walking into work had my heart pumping by the time I got inside because I had to walk really fast. Most of the time, I was there only five minutes before the whistle blew. Why? I do not know. Maybe I had rather have been someplace else. A place that wasn’t so cold in the winter or blazing hot in the summer. Hangers do not have air conditioning or heat that one can feel. Girlie girls would never last. Not even one day.

I walked inside not knowing what to expect since I have never been inside. It was in January and the hanger doors were closed. The inside was dim by comparison to the outside. Plus, it was cold as ice in the freezer. Every head turned to see me with long blond hair walking in with a tool box. Oh, they knew that I had come to work as I was dressed in jeans and boots. I walked in not knowing who to see or where to find them. It didn’t take long. Some guy walked up to me and asked who I would be working for. I told him a guy by the name of Taco. When I met him, I knew why. He had a dark mustache that made him look like a desperado. As it turned out, this guy was great. One of the best guys that I worked for while I was there.

I looked around and there were about four jets on each side of the front of the hanger. Eight more were across the center line in the back. The center line is what we called the middle of the hanger. There was an isle in the middle of each hanger and the center line went all the way thought the entire ten hangers on site.

I feel like the new kid on the block who had just moved to town and didn’t know but one person. That didn’t make me feel any better because he was my brother in law. He was not my favorite person in the world. His job was a crew chief boss. I worked in a crew. It was the engine crew. A woman had never held that position so, I was in for it. Oh dear, me breaking new ground. This was going to be fun. Was it? Not really. I have my fond memories and my terrible memories. As I continue with this blog, I will be telling stories about my life in the place I call a man’s world. Trust me. It was.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Summer Camps
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 06:34:21

    Best you should change the blog subject title Working In A Man’s World Part II SassySweetBren's Blog to more catching for your subject you make. I loved the the writing nevertheless.

    Reply

  2. sassysweetbren
    Aug 13, 2009 @ 12:28:26

    Lori, what I meant about it being a man’s world was that in the eighties, most of those jobs were held by men. One didn’t think of it being a woman’s job. Only ten percent of the workforce was held by women in that plant. Why? Because we did government contract work and they required only ten percent be women.

    The newspaper in my small town came out to interview me when they found out what I did for a living. At that time, it was huge. Thank goodness, times are changing.

    Reply

    • lori
      Aug 13, 2009 @ 21:23:38

      Hey, I understand compleately about what you said. Been in this business coming up on 30 years myself! It is still a man’s world. In Canada anyways. In the early 80’s there were only 12 licensed woman AME’s (Your version of A&P) in all of Canada.

      It is more the attidues I am talking about. But hey it has not been all bad. I left the business and now am back in it again. That has to say something other than I still in this crazy business!!!! I love it.

      In Canada many of the woman were hired for the same reason as in the USA – to fulfill government contracts!

      Reply

  3. Extenze
    Aug 12, 2009 @ 23:33:29

    my God, i thought you were going to chip in with some decisive insght at the end there, not leave it with ‘we leave it to you to decide’.

    Reply

  4. lori
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 22:20:17

    What do you mean it “WAS” a man’s world….? ARG – some things still ahven’t changed 29 years later….

    Reply

  5. James Hill
    Jul 16, 2009 @ 23:48:53

    Well done, very detailed and precise. It kept me entertained (a very hard thing to do).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

Blog Author

