Sex and Insecurities

Today, I had an overdose of Sex In the City. After watching half a season of the first season, it occurred to me that maybe all of us are insecure.

Women are insecure when it comes to men and men are insecure when it comes to women.

We meet and then we pick everything apart. Does he only take me here or there so that I will not be seen by his friends? If I have sex with him on a first date, does that mean that it will never be a serious relationship?

Please, I can’t believe that that show is about such things. Haven’t we come far enough to know who we are and what we want? Does it matter if it becomes serious, if we are enjoying ourselves? I think not but it seems that there are still a lot of women out there who feel this way. Maybe it has something to do with age. The younger the woman, maybe the more insecure she is and for a reason.

Me? I am thankful to be older, wiser and know what I want or should I say expect in life. Not expecting anything is probably the best way to go. This way, we do not become insecure about the relationship that we are in, at the moment.

Looking back, I realize that yes, I suffered from those insecure moments in my life. Why is the question. There were always more than enough men to go around in my life. I never sat home on a weekend wishing that the phone would ring. So, I have to ask myself…why did I feel insecure? Was it an ego thing? Did I want to be the woman that all men adored? To be honest, I am not sure. Yet, I suppose that as the years tick by one of two things happens to women. We either become more sure of ourselves with or without a man in our lives, or we become very insecure because we feel that time is running out.

Most women but not all have an urge to have a child at some point in their lives. So, if that is the case, then it could be that they feel that time bomb ticking and know that if they don’t make a serious connection soon, they are not likely to have that child that they seek.

Well, now, I do believe that I sound like Carrie in Sex In the City. Maybe, I need to go see the editor at the local newspaper. What ya think?

I am so happy to just be me with or without someone special in my life. I am happy to be able to come and go as I please, eat when I please and sleep when I please.

I suppose if I never make another wonderful connection in my life, that I can at least pick apart the realm of outer space and the life form that might exist there. I wonder if the female form on Mars has our worries?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Bit
    Dec 22, 2009 @ 11:48:05

    There are no female forms on Mars. Men are from Mars. Space travel is inevitable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

Blog Author

