We Are What We Think

So many people sit and complain about everything in life. If things do not go to please them, they validate it by complaining about it. Why is my question? Why give credit to anything bad in life?

We can chose to only validate the good in life just as well. I understand this as well as anyone. For years now, I have been dealing with arthritis. If I get out of bed in the morning complaining to myself about how bad I may feel, one can bet that I will feel bad most of the day. However, if I claim a happy attitude, it is mine for the taking. So, I have learned over the years to never claim the bad in life. I claim the good.

Let me explain a bit. In the last 15 years, I have had to deal with plenty of pain. I have had one knee replaced because of arthritis. Before it was replaced, I had to go for 6 years waiting to get old enough to have the surgery. I complained in my mind a lot. If only this or if only that would be in my thoughts. Oh my knee hurts.

Now, after surgery, when I realized the pain in my body wasn’t going  away, I adopted a new attitude. One of not complaining in my mind and certainly not to others. Since I started having a more positive attitude, my pain level has drop to nearly nothing. Why? I know that my brain only knows what I tell it. If I tell it something good, it will act accordingly.

For anyone who is dealing with pain, my suggestion is to change your way of thinking. Pain is magnified when we think about it a lot. It is lessened by not thinking about it. Some of you are thinking how can you not think about it? It isn’t easy but it can be done. Start by focusing on something else. Find something to occupy your mind. I promise that within thirty days, you will feel like a different person. That is how long it takes to make a new habit. Complaining about anything in life is a habit. A bad one. So make a new habit of not complaining.

Anyway, each day of my life, I do not give the pain in my body any recognition. As a result, I now take very little medication for pain. Oh, I have my moments and when I do, I take something but I do not dwell on it. Trust me on this as I know.

There are those out there who think that I am nuts. In some ways maybe but not about this.

More on this late so bookmark my page.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. renderedcook
    Aug 01, 2009 @ 19:18:03

    Wow, I thought you were talking about me. Thats how vain I am. When I think about it, I complain about alot of things. I do however believe it is warranted, especially when paid for services are involved, however giving them any sunlight or as they say, “press” and there’s no such thing as bad press supposedly, then I guess there’s a point to it. But your post is a great one and makes any thinking person step back for a moment and take stock. Thanks 🙂

    Reply

    • sassysweetbren
      Aug 03, 2009 @ 23:26:26

      I too agree that when it comes to paid services,
      we should complain. After all, we just paid good
      money and should get what we paid for.

      I can see what you were thinking when you read this
      because you are out in the world a lot. However,
      as you found out, that wasn’t my point.

      Glad you enjoyed the article RC.

      Reply

  2. Ian Walker
    Jul 27, 2009 @ 07:52:28

    That is a really good article Bren! 🙂 It is so true and I found it both interesting and informative. I can definitely relate to what you have written.

    Keep up the great work!

    Ian

    Reply

  3. Mendy
    Jul 26, 2009 @ 14:36:35

    Thanks for sharing us your great life experience. I totally agree the idea of “we are what we think”.
    BTW: i like your website`s new template. it has well organized contents and soft colors which makes me comfortable to read.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

