Roofing It Up In The Hot South

Yesterday, the roofers showed up to put a new roof on my home.  I have had a new roof put on before this one.  This time, I was seriously impressed.

These men came prepared.  Their team work amazed me.  As they were on the roof working away in 90 degree weather, they were singing.  Amazing.  Who sings in 90 degree weather while on top of a roof?  These men.

American’s are so grouchy about their jobs.  They complain all the time.  The office is too hot or too cold.  The company doesn’t furnish coffee.  The phone rang off the hook all day.  Right.  Like it isn’t their job to answer it.  I could go on and on but y’all get the jest.

These men were contracted by a government agency to do this job.  They were Mexican.  I am so glad that I had the chance to see men working and not complaining.  It did my heart good.

When they were finishing up, they were cleaning up my yard as if it belonged to them.  I mentioned to one young man how he didn’t have to get the last bit of grass off of my landing but he said that he wanted it to look nice with a smile on his face.  I was blown away with this remark.  When they left, all that was left behind was a new roof.  One would never know that anyone had been in my yard that day.

My point is that so many Americans complain about people from Mexico living and working here.  That make me wonder just what they are really thinking.  Now, I am thinking that American’s are jealous because people come here to work and that is what they do.  They work.  They do not complain.  They just do the best job they can and are happy about it.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brian
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 11:19:35

    I usually don’t comment on websites but this one is so relevant and well put together that I just had to stop and say,GREAT WEBSITE.

    Reply

  2. sassysweetbren
    Jun 14, 2010 @ 10:53:08

    Kevin, you might think about parring down what you own. That is what I am doing. I have found that I own way too much and if only, I rid myself of things that I truly do not need, I will have more space than I need.

    Reply

  3. Kevin Wilson
    Jun 14, 2010 @ 10:13:46

    Someday, Someday. I gotta look at an addition for the cookenstein mansion. 1500 square feet starts to get tight after 14 years under the same roof…:)

    Reply

  4. sassysweetbren
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 12:21:39

    The government had a shady program? Wow, that is terrible. So glad that the E minister was sacked.

    We have a lot of the same problems with contractors doing shady work but usually, they aren’t in the government programs. There are too many people who have to sign off on the work.

    There are strict guidelines in this program. I watched and a lot of improvements were made other than just putting up a roof. A couple of vents that I no longer needed were removed. It seems that there were huge holes where these vent were. Not, they are filled in with new wood.

    I had hot air moving vents on my house and they even replaced them. Why? Kind of crazy since they were only 10 years old. Oh well, all is new again.

    The finally inspection was made yesterday and he was very pleased.

    Reply

  5. Young Werther
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 00:03:11

    You’re so lucky to get these excellent and responsible contractors.

    The Aussie government had a Roof Insulation Scheme. There was so much dodgy work performed, roofs caught fire, unsuitable insulation used etc. Most of these contractors were there for the money ! Incidentally the environmental minister was sacked 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

Blog Author

