Making Laundry Detergent in My Kitchen

Woot Hoot…I never thought that I would made laundry detergent but after making it today, I may never buy it from the store again.  How simple can it be?  I will tell ya.  Easier than making a pie or for real easier than washing the dishes.

I will give y’all the recipe.  Different versions can be found all over the web.

1/2 cup of Borax

1/2 cup of Washing Soda

1/3 bar of Fels-Naptha Soap

Don’t let the name of the soap throw ya.  It can be found.  I found it at Ace Hardware.  They will order it for you if they do not have it in stock.  Y’all can find the washing soda there too.  Borax is on every grocery shelf  in the nation I am fairly sure.  Now, don’t pay 3 or 4 dollars a bar because they is just insane.  I paid about $1.40 for one bar.

If only my mother could see me now.  She would be so proud that her country daughter who decided to move to the city making soap in her kitchen today.

Y’all will need a two gallon bucket to compete this job.  Since I made two batches, I used a 5 gallon paint bucket.

Get out your cutting board and chop the soap into tiny little pieces.  Add 4 cups of water to a 4 quart pan and add the soap to it.  Let it simmer until the soap is melted.   Take off the stove eye and add the washing soda and borax to it and stir real well until it dissolves.  That doesn’t take but a minute.

Add this mixture to 4 cups of hot water in the 2 gallon container.  Stir again.  Now, you will add the rest of the water which is 1 gallon plus, 6 cups of cold water.  Y’all need to let this sit for about 24 hours.  Tomorrow, it will be sort of like a jell but do not expect it to look like what you buy at the store.  Pour it into some containers that you have for this.  Y’all can use gallon milk jugs or y’all could use the laundry detergent containers where you have run out of detergent.  If y’all do, make sure that they no longer have the old soap in them.  We are making something that far surpasses what one buys at the store and listen to this.  Y’all will be spending about 4 cents per load to wash y’all clothes.

Oh and one more thing.  Make sure to shake this soap before adding it to your laundry each time.  Just make sure that it is blended real well.  This soap does not make suds.  The suds isn’t what cleans the clothes.  If y’all can’t live without suds, just add about a half bottle of Joy dish washing soap to it.  I would not but hey, women have their quirks.  Another thing that can be done is too add some fragrance such as lilacs but the soap has a pretty smell so why mess with it?

Isn’t that worth going to just a tad of trouble to make this great soap?  In my book it is. Have fun.  I expect that y’all will give this a try.  If for no other reason, y’all can talk about it at the next office party.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa Jenkins
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 21:50:41

    I recently stumbled on your blog. Its amazing to me to see the different processes and creativity each one of us use when making soap. I look forward to hearing about whats next.
    ~Melissa

    Reply

  2. sassysweetbren
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 18:10:07

    I have different things pop into my head from time to time. I will blog about them when I do.

    I am thinking of learning to make hand and bath soap next. Yesterday, I researched it. Nothing to it. Just time and I have plenty of that.

    Thanks for dropping by. I love to have readers who actually say hello. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Evie Garone
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 17:45:55

    Wow!!! I’m thinking seriously of doing this!! Amazingly simple and cheap!! Thanks soooo much!! I’ll call you Martha II if you want!! HA, HA!! What other ideas do you have??

    evelyngarone.com

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Here Is The Proof of Making Laundry Detergent « SassySweetBren's Blog

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

Blog Author

