Poison Ivy Photos

A lot of new gardeners and campers do not know what the poison ivy/oak plant looks like and get a terrible rash after contact.  It will not start to itch the first day and may take a few days to break out.  Since I can not get within a foot of it without getting a rash, I made it my mission to learn what to look for.  I wanted to share with all of my readers so they can have lovely summers instead of being in misery from the rash.

Early Spring Growth

As it matures, it changes colors.

Summer Growth

In the fall, like a lot of trees, it changes color.  You will notice that the leaves are red but they aren’t shiny like in the spring.  The are dull.

Red leaves among the younger red ones.

In some parts of the country the plant is red all of the time.

Red poison ivy

Red poison ivy

Some people will tell you that the plant has smooth edges.  Sometimes that is true but not all poison ivy plants have smooth edges.  Some like the one above have scalloped edges.

Another photo of the poison ivy with scalloped edges.

Scalloped edges of poison ivy

I have some growing in my shrubs at the moment.  All I am waiting for is someone who doesn’t have an allergy to it to remove it for me.  I will gladly give them a pair of gloves, but I want the roots removed so it will not come back.  That is how afraid I am of the plant.  I have had it too many times to every mess with it even with gloves on.

Poison Ivy in the Azeleas

Here is another shot within one foot of the one above.  It is growing on the foundation of my home.

Poison Ivy on home foundation

The main rule to remember when out in the woods hiking or gardening is this.  Three leave beware.  Do not touch anything on the ground or growing up a tree with three leaves. Speaking of growing up a tree.  Here is a photo of some.

Climbing poison ivy

One more thing.  There is a beautiful plant that some people think is poison ivy.  It is called Virginia Creeper.  I have seen it some come out with three leaves to later develop five.  It is a nice vine to grow in a fence or trellis but I warn you that it will take over in a short time.

Virginia Creeper not poison

I hope that I helped to identify this plant.  The misery from getting a rash is just too miserable.  If you do, make sure to read my other blogs about how I treat the rash.

Have a great summer but stay away from this dreadful plant.  You might not have allergies to it now but in time you may.  I didn’t start having a response to it until later in life.

Anyone reading my blog will know that I hate getting a rash from poison ivy since I write about it so much. For further reading check out my blog links below on treating the rash and how to treat your clothes and home.

https://sassysweetbren.wordpress.com/2009/08/04/poison-oak-and-ivy-rash-misery-tips-for-coping/

https://sassysweetbren.wordpress.com/poison-oak-rash-i-have-an-answer/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tjana pengar
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 02:31:51

    Damn, that sound’s so easy if you think about it.

    Reply

  2. Young Werther
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 22:57:59

    Just be careful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

Blog Author

