Woman vs Lawn Mower

I wish that was me. However, I live along and when thing have to be done around my home, I either do it or have to pay to have it done.

Wishful Thinking on my part

Before today, I knew how to put gas and oil in the mower along with how to clean the air filter and change the spark plug.  Now, I can say that I know a few more things.  Now, I know where the carburetor is located.  I didn’t say I can work on it just that I know where it is. 🙂

My mower is used by me and my neighbor who is a good friend.  I can’t denie her anything because she has always been so good to me.

When I tried to start it a few days ago, it wouldn’t.  It had always started with the first pull of the cord.  I hate spending money on something that I might be able to do myself.  With that thought in mind, I headed for the backyard to see if I could figure out what was wrong.

The first thing I did was to empty the tank of all gas.  I should have taken it a step futher and taken the gas line off and cleaned out the tank.  I didn’t because the last time that it didn’t start, that was all I had to do.

The filter was dirty so, I took it off and cleaned it.  Later, while watching a video on lawnmower repair, the guy said that oil should be added to the filter.  Not a lot but just enough to wet it.  That kind of amazed me.  How can it breath if it has oil on it?  Oh well.

I took the spark plug out and looked at it.  It had a little bit of carbon so I took a wire brush and cleaned it up and put it back in.  Then I noticed that the line that controls the air flow to the carburetor was loose.  I put it back in place but it had a tear near the end.  Back to the house to get some electrical tape to fix that for now.  All I wanted was for the thing to start.

I made a hundred trips from the back yard where the mower was to the house for either tools or to watch videos on repairing the mower.  The walking tired me out more than working on it.  Plus, it was hot.  In the south this time of year, it is always hot and humid.  I hate it. Another thing I did when I came inside was to get the grease off my hands.  I know.  I am a sissy.

I did just about all anyone could do without taking the carburetor off to see if it had trash it in.  Tomorrow, I suppose that I will tackle that too.

I learned a few things while outside battling the misquotes while working on it.  I need a table to put it on so it will be up closer to my face.  Before I tackle it again, I will find a way to get it up higher.

In my life, I have tackled just about anything that a person can.  In the end I am a lot like some men.  I end paying to have it done.   It is amazing to me that I keep  trying to do things when I don’t have a clue.  Like I said, it is probably just that I want to see if I can.  Can anyone say, bored woman? 🙂

I never thought that I would work on my mower.  However, I am stubborn and sometimes just need to know that I can still do things.  It probably wouldn’t cost that much to take it somewhere for repair.  That is a problem for me because I don’t have a truck.  I have always needed a truck so, why didn’t I buy one ten years ago when I bought a new car?  Brain dead probably.

What I really need is one like this.  There is a for sale sign on it.  I think I will buy it tomorrow.  This one just needs cleaning up a bit and some paint and I will be ready to go.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mountfieldlawnmower
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 04:03:36

    Buy lawnmowers, lawn tractors and garden equipment Direct from Mountfield Lawnmowers for next day delivery.

    Reply

  2. sassysweetbren
    Jul 18, 2010 @ 16:34:47

    I am glad you found it funny Evie. I like reading your blogs as well.

    Thanks for the visit.

    Reply

  3. Evie Garone
    Jul 18, 2010 @ 13:47:12

    OMG, I love the riding lawn mower!! Too funny!!

    Evie

    evelyngarone.com

    Reply

  4. sassysweetbren
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 02:01:37

    Young, do you think I should have sanded the tip of the spark plug? I didn’t know to do that?

    No, It still did not start. That is why I will have to work on it again tomorrow.

    Reply

  5. John
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 00:53:43

    Choosing the right mower or tractor is a matter of assessing your need and wants.

    Reply

  6. Young Werther
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 23:14:27

    After all that, did it start?

    When my mower doesn’t start, first thing I do is take out the spark plug, sandpaper the bits at the end and spray a little WD40, wait a few minutes and try again….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

