Overheard at My Own Funeral


“You know what killed her don’t you Velma?” said Jane as they were standing over Bren’s dead body in the funeral home. The scent of all the flowers were about to make her go into a sneezing fit.

“Well, I have heard a thing or two but I ain’t saying,” said Velma as she wiped at her eyes with a tissue.

“Honey, she was seeing this young man who was 30 years younger than her. I hear tell that she was sleeping with him just about every night of the week. Now, ain’t that something?”

“Jane, you don’t believe everything that you hear do you? She was on up in years. How in the world would she find a young man to be that interested in her?” Replied Velma with a sniff and a stern look on her face.

“Well, I happen to know it is a fact because I live just up the street from her. I saw a young man go in her house just about every night and his truck was always there in the mornings, mind you.” Jane didn’t like for anyone to dispute her word.

“Anyway, when the ambulance showed up at her house, he was there. I tell you I know he killed her just as I know that I have a mole on my lip.”

Velma was put out with what Jane was saying. She knew that Bren was a good friend to her and had been for many years. If Bren could hear her now, she would be shocked.

“What are you saying?” Asked Velma with a smirk.

“I am saying that if she hadn’t slept with him all the time, her heart might not have gone out on her like it did. He is guilty as a dog and you know it.”

“Well, I never. I think you are just jealous because she had a young man. In fact, I do believe that you are just plain jealous because she had a man and you don’t,” said Jane as she turned and walked back to take a seat.

Powered by Plinky

I belong to Plinky and each day they ask a question to get people to write.  When I find a question amusing, I like to post it here.

Hope y’all enjoyed this as much as I did writing it. 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sassysweetbren
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 00:27:00

    Yep, my friends know that I date younger men so, there is no telling what they will say when I die. ha ha

    Reply

  2. Young Werther
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 00:25:56

    That’s a good way to go… with a smile 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

