Blessings Through Staying Positive

There are no hopeless situations, only people who are hopeless about them.
Dinah Shore

In life, I have learned to expect when I truly need something, it will come my way.  It might not be today but it will come.

I am ashamed to say that I received a ticket for an expired tag.  When I received the notice, I put it in the back seat thinking I would take it inside when I returned home.  I forgot and as a result, I now have to pay a 168 dollar fine.

I wondered how I would squeeze that much out of my budgets.  Anyway, I received a letter from my eye care physician asking me to take part in an eye study.  When I called to say that I would be happy to take part, they told me to come tomorrow and the next day.  Also, they said I would be given 100 dollars for my time.

Just as always, that study will give me most of the money for the fine.

For years now, I have been waking each morning and giving myself the love that I deserve.  We all deserve the love we have inside ourselves.  The thing is that when I try to explain this to people, they do not seem to get it. I have been doing it for so long that now, it is just second nature.

I was speaking on the phone one day with a man who was complaining so much about his grown son.  I asked why his son was upset with him.  As he told the story, it became clear that he put his son down all the time.  I suggested that he start to praise him.  One would have thought that I had started to cuss him.  He wanted to complain about how his son has driven him crazy for 15 years.  Well, if that is the case, he should have parted ways with him 14 years ago.  It wasn’t long before he wanted to hang up.

I expected that he would since people do not like to be told to be kind.  They had rather complain about things in their lives instead of trying to do something constructive about it.  That is such a shame as we all deserve to be happy each day.

One thing is clear to me as I have grown in personal development and that is that when I stay positive, good things are going to happen.  We all have it in us to bring good things our way.  However, we have to learn to love ourselves so we can be positive.

Allow me to ask a question.  How many negative thinking people do you know who have good things happening in their lives?  Think about this for a moment.  I would imagine that you can not think of one person.

I will close this with another quote.

“Do not spoil what you have by desiring what you have not; remember that what you now have was once among the things you only hoped for.”
Epicurus

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bren
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 17:38:21

    Thank you so much. I appreciate you taking your time to let me know you enjoyed it. 🙂

    Reply

  2. msusan
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 17:34:56

    I love this!!

    Reply

  3. sassysweetbren
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 12:04:33

    I think so. It works beautifully for me my friend.

    Reply

  4. Young Werther
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 00:10:42

    Ahhh… you’ve discovered the Secret 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

