Awesome High School Football Team

 

Blazing Football

 

I wonder how many folks out there know how exciting high school football can be.  Some teams are blessed with the best coaches.  These coaches sometimes change the lives of the young men under their charge.  A lot of 6-A school have great teams because they have a lot of young men from which to pick.  Plus, they have the money to hire the best coaches for their teams.  However, our school is not that big of a school.  Saying it is 3-A means it is a mid sized school since schools are ranked from 1-A to 6-A with 1-A being the smallest.

My grandson is on a winning team again this year.  Last year this same team was only scored on three times but never lost a game all the way though the play offs.  They took state in the 3-A division in the state of Alabama.  That was an awesome feat for a small school who had never come close to having a winning team such as this one under the leadership of Keith Etheredge.

 

Coach Keith Etheredge

 

Coach Etheredge went to high school there with my youngest son.  He finished college served his time and came back to his school to lead these young men to victory.  He is making men out of these young men.  Other than their school work and playing football they serve doing community service work under his direction.

These young men look up to their coach with admiration and will do anything for him.  That says a lot about this coach.  My grandson had to be on the field the morning of the game ready to scrimmage at six am.  That is tough for young men.  Yet, as I stated, they all are devoted to school and their football team.  That same day, they had a homecoming parade.  It was small but it was a lot of fun to go out to support the school and the football team.

 

Cropped Photo of team

 

All of the boys on the team received a huge championship ring last year thanks to the awesome contributions of the community.  I hope they get another one this year as they deserve it.

 

Championship Ring

 

If there were more people in the school systems who cared as much about the young people as this coach, there would be less kids in the street and more involved in the school.

My hat goes off to this coach for all of his devoted time.  Cheers to Coach Etheredge, the school and the sports program.  One more  thing is that last year, the basketball team also won state.

 

3-A Basketball Champs

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sassysweetbren
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 05:12:38

    I hope that you will show this blog to Keith and his lovely mother. They know how I feel about them but it is nice to see something a person has written about you.

    Thank you for visiting my site. Come back more often.

    Reply

  2. traci
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 00:21:55

    I am lucky enough to be Keith’s cousin. Our mother’s are sisters. He was always my hero growing up, being that his younger brother, Ross, is my age. Keith has always been an amazing person, from the time he was little until now. I have always been close to he and his brothers, but it makes me so proud to even know Keith. He is an fantastic man, and it’s a shame that more men are not like him. Even if they can’t all be championship coaches, people could learn so much from the way he lives! He is a wonderful father to his children, a loving husband to his wife, a terrific son, a great brother, a loyal friend, a cherished family member to the others in his family, and an oustanding member of his community. Even when he’s incredibly busy with his own life, he will find the time to take his son on special outings, show up to other family member’s children’s birthday parties, or even help a friend move. I was so thrilled to read your blog about Keith…I know that anyone that meets Keith loves him. He’s. Always been that sort of person. I am so lucky that I know him personally. He was my hero from the time I was 5 years old and now 25 years later, I still haven’t found a better man to look up to. I am so thankful that so many young men are privelaged enough to have him in their lives.

    Reply

  3. sassysweetbren
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 15:42:22

    Oh, how sweet you are. My grandson doesn’t think so either. ha ha

    I will tell him for sure. They are a very proud group of young men.

    Reply

  4. Young Werther
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 15:40:09

    Pass on my CONGRATULATIONS to your grandson… Bren, grandson? You don’t look old enough 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

