Killer Storms in Alabama

Alabama has always been a place where people expected to have bad storms.  Lately, it seems that we have really be blasted with more than enough.  Thirty-seven people were killed when storms came roaring though our state starting last night and into today.   When tornadoes, straight line winds and thunderstorms hit our state, it isn’t pretty.  This happens every year.

I just read where the president declared an emergency existence in the state.  FEMA will control 75% of federal funding for our state as of April 27, 2011.   I hope they hurry as I know there are many people without homes not to mention being without electricity.  There are tornado warnings, flood and severe thunderstorm warnings still in effect.

I woke late to notice that my power was out.  After being a bit confused from walking around trying to decide what to do about my coffee, I decided that I needed to go out for it.  On leaving the house, I noticed my street was blocked off in front of my home.  A tree was being taken down.  Later, I learned that it had fell on a power line, thus, me not having power.  Nothing new.  So, I start to drive up into my small town.   As I was driving, I noticed that no one has power.  Finally, I reached the Sonic and they were so busy that cars were parked behind other cars.  I thought that was strange.

I am just now updating this.  It seems that

According to The Weather Channel, there were 130 tornado reports today alone in the state of Alabama and a total of 72 people have been killed.  This is of 11:34 PM on Wednesday night.

Damage in Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Another view in Tuscaloosa, Alabama

People watching a tornado approaching in Cullman, Alabama

Super Huge Tornado

Two women lucky to be alive after the storm

Tuscaloosa, Alabama storm damage

Anyway, I started to my sons home to check on them as I didn’t have phone service at home.  As I was driving though their community which has many, many trees, I saw trees on houses, trees on power lines and was very concerned about what I would find at my son’s home.  On arriving, my oldest grandson was in the driveway. No power at their house either.  A tree from the neighbors yard was over on their fence but not their home.  I was so happy.  However, my daughter in law drove up to say she had been at her parents home and they had lost 20 trees which took power lines down when they fell.  Alabama Power Company said that it might be two weeks before power could be restored at their home.

After leaving, I found out that people not far from me had lost their lives because a tornado ripped though their community.  Also on television, I was watching the biggest funnel cloud as it headed toward Bryant Denny Stadium in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.

My prayer are for those who have lost loved ones, lost their homes or have been affected in anyway.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. air traffic controller
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 12:05:10

    Hello to every single one, it’s actually a pleasant for me to pay a quick visit this site, it contains priceless Information.

    Reply

  2. WakaFlockaRain
    May 20, 2011 @ 14:00:02

    Burr!!!!!! Young Werther

    Reply

  3. Young Werther
    May 11, 2011 @ 02:15:26

    Disasters everywhere 😦
    Be safe…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

