At The Oscars; When We Love Someone

In 1976 when Rich Man Poor Man came on television as a mini series, I fell for a young actor by the name of Nick Nolte.  He played the part of a young boxer.  I have followed his career all of these years.  Tonight I watched the Oscars.  He was nominated as a male in a supporting role in Warrior.  He was interviewed before the Oscars started.  I looked to see if anyone was with him.  Remember he at one time was voted the Sexiest Man Alive.  He was alone at the Oscars and that broke my heart.  I wanted him to have someone on his arm to give him support and to soften the blow if he didn’t win.  Not that it mattered to him.  Or I should say it may not have mattered but I think it does to anyone who is nominated.

Rich Man Poor Man

Sexiest Man Alive

He went on to do many movies and I think I have seen all of them.  He is without a doubt in my mind a very accomplished actor.  Tonight as the camera scanned the crowd, the one person I wanted to see was him.  Finally, Billy Crystal who hosted the show said something about each supporting actor and the camera went to Nick.   Billy made him smile with a wise crack and I also smiled.  It was so refreshing to see the beautiful smile that I have watched all of these years.  Age hasn’t been good to him but to me, when I look at him, I see the young man who was once one of the most handsome men in Hollywood.  I will always see him like that.

The last movie he played in where I thought he was just as handsome as ever was I Love Trouble with Julia Roberts.  Both were news reporters.  If you haven’t seen the movie, it is worth watching because of the fun and mischief.  He smiled a lot in that movie and I was glued to the screen waiting for the next beautiful smile.  Remember, I fell for this actor a long time ago.  Never has anyone in Hollywood had such an affect on me as Nick Nolte.

Nick Nolte and Julia Roberts

After all of these years, Nick Nolte is still one of my favorite film stars because he was good in anything he acted in.  We all loved him in 48 Hours with Eddie Murphy.   He played the leading role in Down and Out In Beverly Hills as a homeless man.  Richard Dreyfuss and Bette Midler played the supporting roles.  Their family was extremely dysfunctional to say the least as a rich couple with children as weird as them and a dog who needed therapy.  The husband Dave found Jerry (Nick Nolte) in his swimming pool one morning where he intended to drown himself.   As an act of kindness,Dave took him into their home.  From there it is nothing but laughs.  Watch it if you haven’t.  You will enjoy it a lot.  I promise.

Nick Nolte

Another film he had the lead in with Barbara Streisand titled Prince of Tides which won him the Golden Globe Award was a very good movie.  By the way, she directed him in the film.  Check it out sometimes.

To finish my story, I told my husband back in the nineties that if Nick Nolte ever knocked on our door, that he should just get up and leave because he would be staying the night.  ha ha…..I truly found him that appealing.

Nick I will always love you.  To me you are a wonderful actor.  You have given me great joy over the years showing off your awesome talent in all the movies you have made.  I have searched out every movie you have played in and either watched it at the movies or rented it.

Nick Nolte and Barbara Striesand

So to end, I will say that when we love someone, we want only the best of them.  Tonight, I wanted him to win the Oscar.  I also wanted him to have a date with him.    I will leave you with one of my favorite photos of Nick Nolte.  It is strange how when I search online for photos of him, I can find a ton of him looking terrible but very few when he was in his best years.  People are cruel when a person has problems in life.  They have little forgiveness.  I do.  I love you Nick.  Keep doing what you do best and that is probably making movies.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Young Werther
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 20:25:43

    Nick’s a great actor and not too bad looking too 😉
    My favourite was Lorenzo’s Oil.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Author

Blog Author

